Host range of meliolaceous fungi in India

Main Article Content

V.B. Hosagoudar
G.R. Archana


The order Meliolales comprises two families, namely, Armatellaceae and Meliolaceae. Except the genera Endomeliola and Pauhia, India represents rest of the nine genera of this group. The family Armatellaceae includes two genera, namely, Armatella and Basavamyces. The family Meliolaceae includes seven genera: Amazonia, Appendiculella, Asteridiella, Ectendomeliola, Irenopsis, Meliola and Prataprajella. All these nine genera represent 613 species and infra-specific taxa known till the year 2006, infected 766 host plants belonging to 349 host genera distributed among 104 families. All the host families and the fungal genera are arranged alphabetically with their corresponding parasite and the host plant. The corresponding number after the host family represents the number of meliolaceous taxa known on the members of that family.

Article Details

Author Biographies

V.B. Hosagoudar

V.B. Hosagoudar has more than three decades of research experience, has published five books on fungi including Monographs on Meliolales of India and has authored more than 300 research publications.

G.R. Archana

G.R. Archana is currently working on foliicolous fungi of Western Ghats region of Kerala state under the guidance of Dr. V.B. Hosagoudar. She has 22 research papers in national and international journals.